Monday, March 22, 2010

The great health debate - what to expect

ABC TV: 12.30 pm Tuesday in every timezone 

ABC NewsRadio: Live nationwide at 1230 AEDT

These are the rules, just conveyed to me by the Press Club:

"The order of leaders would be decided by the toss of a coin.

The moderator will be Club Director Chris Uhlmann.

Each leader is allocated 5 minutes for opening remarks.

After the leaders have concluded their opening comments, members of the media will pose questions in this order determined by ballot:

Paul Bongiorno - Network 10
Sandra O'Malley - AAP
Sue Dunlevy -The Daily Telegraph
Lyndal Curtis - ABC Radio
Mark Riley – Network Seven
Laura Tingle Financial Review
Matthew Franklin - The Australian
Michelle Grattan - The Age
Jayne Azzopardi Nine Network
Karen Middleton – SBS
Andrew Probyn - West Australian

The leader answering a question put directly to him/her will have a maximum of 2 minutes to reply. The other speaker would have the option to respond to the answer given by the opponent for a maximum of 1 minute.

In the case of a question being put forward to the leaders jointly, each speaker would have 2 minutes to reply.

Leaders will be alerted 30 seconds out from the conclusion of time for opening and closing comments, answers to questions and right of reply periods.

Concluding comments of 2 minutes from each speaker is given in the same order to that of the opening comments."

Game on.

Related Posts

. Abbott also destroys tax reform

. It isn't even health insurance

. Tuesday Column: The rigged campaign